Exams & Revision

For information regarding exams please contact Mrs Gill McLean (Exams Officer)

phone icon Tel: 016977 45719    email icon Email: examinations@williamhoward.cumbria.sch.uk


Post Results Enquiries

For further details, please refer to the attached information regarding Post Result Enquiries:


Exam Dates (2018-19)

Internal Exams

  • Year 11: Monday, 3 December to Friday, 14 December 2018 (Year 11 Internal Exam Timetable Nov-Dec 2018 – updated 7/11/18) &  Tuesday, 26 February to Friday, 8 March 2019
  • Sixth Form: Monday, 4 March to Friday, 15 March 2019
  • Years 8 & 7: Monday, 13 May to Friday, 24 May 2019
  • Years 10 & 9: Monday, 17 June to Friday, 28 June 2019

GCE & GCSE Exams

Monday, 13 May to Wednesday, 26 June 2019.

PLEASE NOTE: The above dates are all subject to change.  There will be dates outside theses times for practical exams, coursework and speaking tests, etc.  


Information for Candidates


Mobile Phones

Categories of sanctions of exam boards for mobile phones infringements:

  • Not in the candidates possession but active e.g. ringing in bag – WARNING LETTER
  • In the candidates possession switched ON or OFF, but no evidence of use – ZERO FOR THE UNIT THEY ARE SITTING AT THE TIME
  • On the candidate and evidence of use e.g. texting or answering a call – DISQUALIFIED FROM THE SUBJECT
  • Maximum penalty for repeated offences – 2 YEAR BAN FROM SITTING ANY EXAM WITH ANY OF THE EXAM BOARDS