Once again, our new Year 7s have begun their History course with a study of the local area, helping the students appreciate the relationship between a place and historical events. Each class is taking a guided tour of Brampton, highlighting the fascinating significance of some of its landmarks.
The whistle-stop tours included St Martin’s Church, the Half Moon shop (formerly an Inn), The Moot Hall and The Scotch Arms.
St Martins Church was designed by the Pre-Raphaelite architect Philip Webb and features beautiful stained-glass windows by Edward Burne-Jones.
A plaque marks ‘Prince Charlie’s House’, one of the oldest buildings in town. The house is so named because Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed there in 1745 while his army besieged nearby Carlisle. The students learned that the Half Moon health food shop was once an inn where the French Ambassador stayed during Bonnie Prince Charlie’s assault on Carlisle. When the siege was over the Ambassador departed but left behind a dress sword and a bonnet, which are now housed in Tullie House Museum.
The students discovered that the Moot Hall was built for the Earl of Carlisle in 1817, replacing an earlier 17th century hall. Iron stocks used to punish offenders are still in situ and a large ring attached to the ground was once located outside the Howard Arms and used for the barbaric sport of bull baiting.